Navigation
News
GoldCoastCB Forum -- May 26, 2018, 08:00:25 PM
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Broken GME 3800  (Read 1542 times)
number7

« on: July 21, 2016, 01:21:02 PM »

Found a radio in a box - cant remember where it came from - after a chat with Bundy about it he tells me it is 25w commercial

When I powered it up I found it does not work.

I decided I should do the right thing and hand it in to the ACMA,    laughing7    but thought I would try to get it working for them first

Looks ok to me inside but I discovered small broken piece of something stuck to the magnet in the speaker. I can see where this piece has come from (right next to red power wire in pic) and am now wondering what it is and if it is
a part I can buy and replace easily

As I am not an electronics expert I am posting here to see if anyone else can help to identify the broken part and give me some repair advise

Check out the pics - any help much appreciated                perhaps up your alley  Wood Chopping

* 16070003.jpg (934.97 KB, 3552x2000 - viewed 84 times.)

* 16070002.jpg (1045.43 KB, 3552x2000 - viewed 90 times.)
Thunderbird

« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2016, 03:32:07 PM »

Looks like its blown apart "some" surface mounted part, hard to say from the photos.

You'd need to get a service manual or a schematic diagram.

You may be lucky in that some idiot has put a huge fuse in it and connected the power backwards, and it might be an easy fix.

Does it have a fuse? If so try putting in say a 2 amp fuse and just powering it up to test for receive, (don't TRANSMIT), if it receives ok, then maybe that blown apart part may have just been the reverse polarity protection diode and thus an easy fix.

Grandpa Wood Chopping

"If a clutered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign."  Albert Einstein

Well, I have the cluttered desk, I guess that's a start!
number7

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2016, 04:34:34 PM »

Thanks  Wood Chopping